Rhapsody App for
Rhapsody International, Inc.
Get app Have the app

Mountains Of Sorrow, Rivers Of Song (Bonus Tracks)

Mountains Of Sorrow, Rivers Of Song by Amos Lee
Released: Oct 2013
Label: Blue Note
Though 2010's Mission Bell was heretofore his most successful album, Amos Lee felt no need to create its sequel. Swapping out producer Joey Burns (of Calexico fame) for Nashville hot shot Jay Joyce (Little Big Town, Eric Church), the singer-songwriter unveils a more countrified sound on Mountains of Sorrow, Rivers of Song. Mind you, Lee's music always did betray a love for rootsy troubadour fare (John Prine, John Hiatt, James McMurtry, etc). Nowadays, however, he's crafting lush ballads like "Chill in the Air," "Dresser Drawer" and "Indonesia," all of which boast country radio accessibility.
Justin Farrar