Rhapsody App for
Rhapsody International, Inc.


The Figurines formed in the mid-1990s by schoolmates Christian Hjelm (vocals, guitar), Andreas Toft (bass) and Claus Johansen (guitar). In 2001, the group became a quartet with the addition of drummer Kristian Volden, who the members met at a party. After playing together extensively for the next year, the group headed into the studio to record their debut album, Shake A Mountain. The album was released in 2003 and their very first single, "Bright," found its way to the No. 1 spot on the Danish alternative charts that August. The band's good fortune culminated in an appearance on Roskilde, a Lollapalooza-type European festival, which put them in front of their largest audience to date. The foursome hit the studio once again and released their sophomore effort, Skeleton, in April 2005. Again the band reached No. 1 on the Danish alternative charts (with "The Wonder") and this time out, they also managed to get heavy airplay on Danish national radio with the song "Silver Pond." The Figurines made their U.S. debut with Skeleton in March 2006.

Similar Artists

Rhapsody app on your desktop or mobile device.

3 months of Rhapsody Premier for $1, then just $9.99/month

Freedom to play what you want, anywhere. Limited time offer.