Rhapsody App for
Rhapsody International, Inc.
Get app Have the app

The Voice That Is

The Voice That Is by Johnny Hartman
Released: Jan 1964
Hartman's final ballad collection for Impulse! finds his shimmering baritone backed by two different bands. Pianist Hank Jones leads the quartet session; the equally rewarding octet session is less jazz orientated. Standouts include "Slow Hot Wind," a rare vocal version of Mancini's "Lujon" and a peerless tour through "These Foolish Things."
Nick Dedina