Rhapsody App for
Rhapsody International, Inc.
Get app Have the app
Sound Pieces by Oliver Nelson
Released: Sep 2004
This tight Impulse Records release showcases multiple sides of Oliver Nelson's immense talent. On the first three cuts, the saxophonist leads a 20-piece big band on an exciting set of cinematic crime jazz. On the remainder of the platter, Nelson burns brightly in a small group setting, playing the soprano sax as creatively as Coltrane but with a more accessible tone.
Nick Dedina