Rhapsody App for
Rhapsody International, Inc.
Sum 41


Sum 41 are from Ajax, Ontario, but their pop-punk sound is straight out of California. The trio -- vocalist-guitarist Deryck Whibley, bassist Cone McCaslin and drummer Steve Jocz -- started in 1996 as a NOFX cover band and later started writing its own material and charting Green Day and blink-182 territory. The band soon earned a contract with Island Records, and their debut album, Half Hour of Power, was released in the summer of 2000. Their 2001 follow-up, All Killer No Filler, produced by Green Day and blink mix-master Jerry Finn, yielded two of the band's biggest hits -- "In Too Deep" and "Fat Lip" -- and went to the top of the charts. A year later, Does This Look Infected? brought a harder edge and a hip-hop influence, and featured the hit "Thanks for Nothing." In 2004, with Chuck, Sum 41 took on a more serious demeanor after a traumatic experience in war-torn Congo, where they had to be rescued by U.N. peacekeepers. "We're All to Blame" was an indictment of the West for its apathy toward Congo's genocide. After a hiatus -- and the departure of guitarist Dave Baksh -- the band returned in 2007 with Underclass Hero, its highest charting album to date (at No. 7).
Rhapsody app on your desktop or mobile device.

Listen to the songs you love. Anytime, anywhere.

14 day free trial, then just $9.99/month for Rhapsody Premier. View all plans