Rhapsody App for
Rhapsody International, Inc.
Hottt Dance Trax, July 2013

Hottt Dance Trax, July 2013

by Philip Sherburne  |  July 8, 2013

Hottt Dance Trax, July 2013

Will future generations look back at July 2013 as the turning point -- the moment that EDM definitively morphed into country music, giving way to a decade of beats 'n' banjos? Probably not, but there's no denying that Avicii's new single, "Wake Me Up," with its jangly Mumford & Sons overtones, marks a significant break from the sound he established with "Levels," one of the decade's most definitive main-stage anthems so far. And he's not the only one changing things up: On new singles from Krewella, Kaskade, Tiesto and Duck Sauce, pop sensibilities play just as important a role as propulsive beats. If it's festival-sized bangers you're looking for, Boys Noize and Afrojack have that territory covered, while Rusko, Doctor P and OWSLA signings Nick Thayer and What So Not tweak the formula of trap-rave and dubstep. Check out all those singles, plus new music from Paul van Dyk, W&W, Cosmic Gate, Chuckie and more.

Rhapsody app on your desktop or mobile device.

3 months of Rhapsody Premier for $1, then just $9.99/month

Freedom to play what you want, anywhere. Limited time offer.